Standing by the Shore

Based on a passage in “In Her Element” by Jude Robison  

I’m sitting by the shore.
I will tell the young captains tales about my voyages, all that I saw, all
    that I did.
	I will talk about avoiding rocks and shoals, 
	and how to find safe harbor in a storm. 
	I will tell them where to look for pearls and other treasurers.  
I will draw maps.  But I can’t be a helmsman any more.
	I can’t even pull an oar.  
I will watch the fresh-painted boats leave without me.  
	The sea breeze teases.
Some day a boat will come just for me.
I will sail out out to sea,
	alone.  I won’t return.
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

