Neither Here nor There on New Year’s Eve

Outside, it is New Year's Eve:
  Fireworks, noisemakers, parties.
    People await the magic moment.
Inside, I am outside time,
  listening to the winter lights.

I am not at Pittsburgh's 2001 First Night,
  wandering downtown, trying to choose
    which performances interest me the most.
I am in Cincinnati.  Mary's sister Eleanor
  is working 11 to 7 at the hospital. Her son
    just left for the airport.  Suzanne 
      is at an all-night party with college friends.
Mary and I are here with Eleanor's husband.
  Kurt doesn't talk much.  We  discuss 
    model trains.  We don't discuss guns; we've nothing
      new to say on that subject.
Mostly Kurt sits and drinks coffee.

Buddhism teaches that only the present
  is real; the past is gone and the future
    is unknowable. 
For me, on this last night of 2000, 
the present is the least real.  In here,
  I am somewhere else, somewhere
    between the years.

This past year was difficult, troubled.  Politics - 
  The whole year I worked and now I feel 
    as if my house had been broken into and robbed.
Medical - I have balance problems, literally.
		I need a new year.
The coming year is uncertain.  Job, career ...
  Is it too late to figure out 
    What I'm going to be when I grow up?
       Can I still make a mark?

In here, Kurt turns on the TV.  A hundred 
  young people crowd Times Square to watch
    The ball drop.
I will go to bed early,
  wake up early,
    and watch the new year dawn.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Neither Here nor There on New Year’s Eve

  1. Hey, I think your website might be having browsеr compatibility issues.
    When I look at your ԝebsite in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Іnternet Exρlorer, it has ѕome overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heаds up!

    Otһer then that, terгific blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

